Pre-concert talk with Dr. Andrew Shryock, 7 PM


7 Variations on “Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen” from The Magic Flute
Sonata No. 3 in A major, Op. 69
Sonata No. 4 in C Major Op. 102, No. 1
Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102, No. 2

Clemens Hagen, cello

Clemens Hagen has performed as soloist with internationally renowned orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony, the Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the NHK Orchestra Tokyo and the Cleveland Orchestra.

For the 50th anniversary celebration of Jeunesse Musicale Vienna, Clemens Hagen was artist-in-residence where he gave six concerts, including a duo performance with Oleg Maisenberg and Paul Gulda, a solo recital of works by Bach, a performance with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, as well as a performance with the Hagen Quartet.  Hagen regards his appearances as soloist as an important complement to playing chamber music, primarily with the Hagen Quartet.  Other chamber music partners are Martha Argerich, Evgeny Kissin, Mitsuko Uchida, Gidon Kremer, Leonidas Kavakos, Maxim Vengerov, and Sabine Meyer among others. Hagen is a music professor at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg where he has taught cello and chamber music since 1988.  He is also a Visiting Artist for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Mr. Hagen comes from a musical family in Salzburg and began to learn the cello at the age of six.  Two years later he started studying at the Mozarteum University and then transferred to the Conservatory in Basel with Wilfried Tachezi and Heinrich Schiff as two of his teachers.  In 1983 Clemens Hagen was awarded the special prize of the Vienna Philharmonic and also the Karl Böhm prize.

Kirill Gerstein, piano